Firehouse 12

Anthony Braxton, alto, soprano, and sopranino saxophones, clarinet, and Eb contralto clarinet
Taylor Ho Bynum, cornet, flugelhorn, trumpbone, piccolo and bass trumpets, mutes, and shell
Andrew Raffo Dewar, soprano and c-melody saxophones, and...

Anthony Braxton, alto, soprano, and sopranino saxophones, clarinet, and Eb contralto clarinet
Taylor Ho Bynum, cornet, flugelhorn, trumpbone, piccolo and bass trumpets, mutes, and shell
Andrew Raffo Dewar, soprano and c-melody saxophones, and...

"Madeleine Dreams is the second recording from cornetist/composer Taylor Ho Bynum's improvising chamber ensemble, SpiderMonkey Strings. The centerpiece of this release is Bynum's titular composition, a six-movement secular oratorio inspired by the novel..

What a killer band: Taylor on cornet, guitarist Mary Halvorson, drummer Tomas Fujiwara, bassist Ken Filiano, saxophonist Jim Hobbs, and tubist/bass trombonist Bill Lowe!

"Apparent Distance is a four-part suite. In the liner notes, Bynum writes..

Nate Wooley :: trumpet
Stephanie Richards :: trumpet
Vincent Chancey :: French horn
Steve Swell :: trombone
Bill Lowe :: bass trombone & tuba
Jim Hobbs :: alto saxophone
Ingrid Laubrock :: soprano & tenor saxophones
Matt Bauder :: tenor & baritone saxophones
Jason Kao Hwang :: violin & viola
Tomeka Reid :: cello
Ken Filiano :: bass
Mary Halvorson :: guitar
Jay Hoggard :: vibraphone
Tomas Fujiwara :: drums
Taylor Ho Bynum :: composer, cond

This documents two different versions of Bynum’s modular composition “Navigation,” with two sets recorded in studio with an all-star line up of great, young, creative musicians.
Taylor Ho Bynum: cornet
Jim Hobbs: alto saxophone
Bill Lowe...

"Tapestries for Small Orchestra, eminent trumpeter/composer Bill Dixon’s new three-disc set, includes two audio CDs of specially commissioned original music plus a documentary film featuring exclusive interviews and session footage. Made possible in

Tomas Fujiwara – drums
Gerald Cleaver - drums
Mary Halvorson – guitar
Brandon Seabrook - guitar
Taylor Ho Bynum – cornet
Ralph Alessi - trumpet

This double trio is an utter delight; the double drumming is great and hearing Brandon and Mary go toe to toe is just as wonderful as hearing Taylor and Ralph do the same!

"Bandleader, composer, and drummer Tomas Fujiwara possesses a musical dexterity that could go unnoticed if not for its ripple effect. He has brought his.

Mary Halvorson :: guitar
Susan Alcorn :: pedal steel guitar
Jonathan Finlayson :: trumpet
Jon Irabagon :: alto saxophone
Ingrid Laubrock :: tenor saxophone
Jacob Garchik :: trombone
John Hébert :: bass
Ches Smith :: drums

"Continuing her streak of outstanding releases, guitarist extraordinaire Mary Halvorson once again shows her determination to build upon her unique style as a composer and bandleader. She's taken her septet from 2013's superb Illusionary S

Mary Halvorson, guitar / Jonathan Finlayson, trumpet / Jon Irabagon, alto saxophone / John Hébert, bass / Ches Smith, drums.

Mary's back with her big guitar and her great band for a second album with her fine quintet.

Bending Bridges..

Amirtha Kidambi - voice
Ambrose Akinmusire - trumpet
Mary Halvorson - guitar
Michael Formanek - bass
Tomas Fujiwara - drums

Thumbscrew + trumpeter + vocalist = Code Girl. This is Mary's somewhat proggy, art-song band [think of the less dense aspects of the songs of Michael Mantler]!

"The band was dubbed “Code Girl” (the name coming from a comment made by multi-instrumentalist Anthony Braxton, with whom Halvorson frequently collaborates), and the challenge was to write.

This record has gotten a lot of critical acclaim and it deserves it, as the group and Mary have a unique guitar-trio sound. My only caveat about the press is that everyone talks about how 'out' this is and maybe I'm just getting old and obscure, but it...

"This album is the debut of her seven-piece ensemble. The album features six Halvorson originals, where the four-horn blend brings deeper sonority, orchestral possibility, and an increased level of intricacy to Halvorson’s distinctive compositional...

One of the most instantly recognizable voices on the guitar today, this is Mary's first solo album!

"Mary Halvorson's Meltframe is the product of three years of gestation and refinement. Initially conceived as a solo guitar album made up of...

"Saturn Sings is guitarist/composer Mary Halvorson’s highly anticipated follow-up to her acclaimed 2008 debut, Dragon’s Head. It documents a new book of music written for her latest ensemble, the Mary Halvorson Quintet, which adds fellow New Yorkers....

John Hebert, bass
Tony Malaby, saxophone
Michael Attias, saxophone
Nasheet Waits, drums
Satoshi Takeishi, percussion
Adam Kolker, flute, bass clarinet

"Byzantine Monkey, bassist/composer John Hébert's long..

"Ubatuba is the eponymous release by Ingrid Laubrock s newest quintet, featuring a handpicked group of musicians including alto saxophonist Tim Berne, trombonist Ben Gerstein, tuba player Dan Peck, and drummer Tom Rainey. The release features all original compositions by Laubrock."

Stephanie Griffin, viola
Oscar Noriega, clarinet, saxophone
Carl Maguire, piano
John Hebert, bass
Dan Weiss, drums

"Sided Silver Solid is keyboardist/composer Carl Maguire's Firehouse 12 debut and the second release.

Second great release from Myra's excellent group, which currently consists of all really great, seasoned players:
Myra Melford, piano
Cuong Vu, trumpet
Ben Goldberg, clarinet and contra-alto clarinet
Brandon Ross, guitar and soprano

Myra Melford (piano)
Ron Miles (cornet)
Liberty Ellman (guitar)
Stomu Takeishi (acoustic bass guitar)
Tyshawn Sorey (drums)

Another extremely fine release from pianist / composer Melford, who always seems to bring out the best in her band members (and she’s dealing with some exceedingly ‘best’ already!!

“Bay Area pianist Myra Melford – whom the New Yorker called “a stalwart of the new-jazz movement” – has spent the last three decades making brilliant original music, in

Mankwe Ndosi, voice
Nicole Mitchell, flute
David Young, trumpet
David Boykin, tenor saxophone
Tomeka Reid, cello
Justin Dillard, piano
Josh Abrams, bass
Marcus Evans, drumset
Avreeayl Ra, percussion...

Stephen Haynes: trumpet, flugelhorn, cornet, alto horn, small percussion
Ben Gerstein: trombone, melodica
Todd Neufeld: electric and acoustic guitar
Joe Morris: electric guitar, double bass
Carl Testa: double bass, electronics
Mark Helias: double bass
Zach Rowden: double bass
Tyshawn Sorey: conductor, drum set, dungchen, percussion, trombone

“Renowned far and wide not only as a virtuoso multi-instrumentalist but as a composer-improviser of visionary gifts.

Tyshawn Sorey, drums and piano
Ben Gerstein, trombone
Corey Smythe, piano and Wurlitzer
Thomas Morgan, bass

Great young drummer making his debut as a leader. I saw him in 2005 in an ensemble with Dave Douglas and he was amazing and