Adams, John Luther - Everything That Rises

SKU 34-CB 051
“Everything That Rises is art without artifice, and its beauty transports the listener into a timeless place outside of everyday experience, surely one of music’s most exalted goals.” —New York Classical Review

“Everything That Rises finds Mr. Adams exploring dissonance and just-intonation tuning, in the gentlest of ways.” —New York Times

"Everything That Rises is an elegant, haunting, and devilishly difficult string quartet, performed by by the incredible, illustrious JACK Quartet.

The composer writes: “Everything That Rises, my fourth quartet, grew out of Sila: The Breath of the World—a concert-length choral/orchestral work composed on a rising series of sixteen harmonic clouds. This music traverses that same territory, but in a much more melodic way. Each musician is a soloist, playing throughout. Time floats and the lines spin out, always rising, in acoustically perfect intervals that grow progressively smaller as they spiral upward…until the music dissolves into the soft noise of the bows, sighing.'"
  • LabelCold Blue
  • UPC800413005124
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews