Affinity - Affinity (expanded) 4 x CD box set )weight, this price for the USA only. Outside of the USA, the price will be adjusted as needed)

SKU 23-ECLEC 42775
“A new, hugely expanded, remastered four CD clamshell boxed set featuring the original album remastered from the master tapes, outtakes, live recordings, and much never-heard material from before and after their sole album, this is compiled by Mo Foster and featuring his liner notes, by the legendary progress/jazz rock group, Affinity.
The band’s origins go back to 1965 at the University of Sussex in Brighton when Lynton Naiff (keyboards), Grant Serpell (drums), and Nick Nicholas (double bass) formed the US Jazz Trio to perform at University events and local gigs. When Serpell graduated a year later he was replaced by Mo Foster who had earlier been playing bass guitar in his school band but had now switched to drums.
In 1968, Naiff, Serpell and Foster recruited Mike Jopp on guitar and the outstanding vocalist Linda Hoyle to form Affinity. The band made their live debut in October 1968 and soon appeared on the BBC radio show Jazz Club. Legendary saxophonist and club owner Ronnie Scott heard a recording of this performance and subsequently agreed to manage them and give them regular bookings at his world-famous jazz club.
Affinity soon began to attract a lot of favourable media attention and signed to the newly formed Vertigo label in 1969. Their eponymous debut album, produced by John Anthony, appeared in 1970. Thanks to outstanding tracks such as ‘Three Sisters’, ‘Night Flight’ and imaginative covers of Bob Dylan’s ‘All Along The Watchtower’ and Alan Hull’s ‘I Am And So Are You’, Affinity received excellent reviews, with the Sunday Times praising the playing of organist Lynton Naiff and vocalist Linda Hoyle.”
  • LabelEsoteric
  • UPC5013929477582
Your Price $38.00

Customer Reviews