Atomic Ape - Swarm

SKU 28-WBOM44.2
This is the debut release by the band who is led by Jason Schimmel, who was previously in Estradasphere and Secret Chiefs 3 and who previously led the group Orange Tulip Conspiracy is back. Think of bands like Secret Chiefs 3, Estradasphere, and maybe even Sleepytime, but with a more worldly sound. This was going to be an OTC album, but this got bigger and different than OTC, so a name change for the band was in order! "Here's some good news for fans of meticulously crafted instrumental music and records with major production efforts behind them. Mimicry Recordings artists formerly known as "Orange Tulip Conspiracy" have returned with a new lineup, a new sound, a new name (Atomic Ape) and most exciting of all, a new album called Swarm. The now-LA-based unit is still led by Jason Schimmel (Estradasphere), who has been honing this project for many years at studios in Seattle, San Francisco, and most notably at his formidable commercial studio in LA, The Bunker. He says it took over 4 years to record from beginning it to completing it… maybe he contracted some time-dilating virus during his time playing bass in Secret Chiefs 3 (rumors of him working on some of these tunes as far back as 2008 have been circulated). Also there's the cast of 25 musicians involved beyond the core live band, among them Mimicry-familiar names like Trey Spruance, Eyvind Kang, Tim Young, Devin Hoff, Jessika Kenney, Dave Abramson, Timba Harris, Steve Moore, and other heavy luminaries like Joe Doria, Danny Frankel, and Mike Stone. With the ethic of seeing something worth doing all the way through, and doing things the hard-but-right way for the musical aesthetics of the project, Swarm was mixed to 1/2" tape using only analog outboard equipment (this last step manned by the eminently capable Mimicry-familiar Justin Phelps). It's details like this - above all the care and consideration - that make the surf-drenched alternate universe of lost TV-land cop show soundtracks with 80 billion styles of music found on this record actually work - brilliantly. Mimicry is always proud to offer records like this one, those self-produced obsessions that go beyond the man hours, the massive track counts, the densely layered sections, meticulous packaging and art, and the dizzying range of musical styles and performances from all those heavy players... beyond all that, into the details!"

Jason Schimmel - Guitar, Organ
Ryan Parrish - Sax
Steve Moore - Trombone
John Whoolilurie - Sax
Trey Spraunce - Guitar
Adam Stacey - Clavinet
Luke Bergman - Bass
Danny Frankel - Percussion
Lee Smith - Drums
Trevor Parrish - trumpet
Frank Silva - Sax
Andre Conrad - Clarinet
Joe Doria - Organ
Timba Harris - Violins
Eyving Kang - Viola
Artyom Manukyan - Cello
Isaac Mills - Flute
Devin Hoff - Bass
Dave Abramson - Drums
Will Wulfeck - Trombone
Tim Young - guitar
Archie Carey - Bassoon
Adrian Terrazas Gonzales - Flute
Jessica Kenney - Voice
Mike Stone - Drums
Steve Moore - Piano
Mike Lockwood - Drums
Zack Cline - Guitar
  • LabelWeb of Mimicry
  • UPC678033304428
Your Price $16.00

Customer Reviews