Beggar's Opera - Nimbus: The Vertigo Years Anthology (remastered) 2 x CDs

SKU 23-ECLEC 22343
"Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce a 2CD ANTHOLOGY by the classic Scottish Progressive Rock group BEGGARS OPERA. Drawing on material from the band’s first four albums, recorded for the legendary Vertigo label, "NIMBUS” features 27 of the band’s best tracks.

Formed in Glasgow in 1969 with a line-up of RICKY GARDINER (Guitar, Vocals), ALAN PARK (Keyboards), MARTIN GRIFFITHS (Vocals), MARSHALL ERSKINE (Bass, Flute) and RAYMOND WILSON (Drums), the band signed to the newly established progressive arm of Philips Records, Vertigo, in 1970. Their debut album, "ACT ONE” gained some success in Europe with tracks such as ‘Poet and Peasant’ and ‘Passacagalia’. A successful European hit single, ‘SARABANDE’, was followed by the album "WATERS OF CHANGE”, arguably their best and most successful album, and a line-up change that saw GORDON SELLAR replace MARSHALL ERSKINE on bass, and VIRGINIA SCOTT join the group on Mellotron. The record included the classic ‘Time Machine’, along with the memorable ‘Silver Peacock’ and ‘I’ve No Idea’.

"PATHFINDER” from 1972 was another classic album and featured a wonderful cover of Jim Webb’s ‘MacArthur Park’ along with ‘The Witch’ and ‘Hobo’.

The band’s final album for Vertigo, 1973’s "GET YOUR DOG OFF ME” saw further line-up changes, but included a fine cover of Mason Williams’ ‘CLASSICAL GAS’ and saw further European success for the band.

This anthology is a fine tribute to an inspiring band and has been newly re-mastered from the original master tapes, and features a booklet with new essay."
  • LabelEsoteric
  • UPC5013929434349
Your Price $22.00

Customer Reviews