Breznev Fun Club - Il Misantropo Felice

SKU 33-AltrOck 047
Tremendously good, orchestral (see the personnel below) rock album. This is a total winner and if reading what you read below makes you think this is for you, then this is for you! Highly recommended.

"“Il misantropo felice” is the second and long awaited release by “Brezhnev Fan Club”. The creative process of the project, conceived and directed by Rocco Lomonaco from Lucania, carries on and evolves. It’s a widened ensemble, a small rock-orchestra that leads us along a path made of complex atmospheres, sometimes dreamy or melancholic...a set of colors and sensations that make of BFC something unique.

Strongly recommended for who loves the Canterbury sound, Zappa’s Uncle Meat, Bang on a can, Picchio dal Pozzo, Opus Avantra and Yugen and at same time a very recognizable and distinctive work, able to shape out its own space among the Avant-Prog and Canterbury scenes.

The album “Il misantropo felice” was written mainly between 1999 and 2000 in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. The first theme of music was composed in 1997 and has been used as main pattern for other sections. A very small part was written later, in 2001. The orchestration went through several changes over time, the last of which between 2009 and 2010, has been the one used for the current recording.

The composition consists of eight parts that, without being too descriptive, talks about the short and hypertrophic morning dream of a man, from the moment he falls asleep until his cathartic awakening. It is a Traumarbeit where the sounds unconsciously perceived by the outside world alternate themselves with private memories, and whose content becomes a dreamlike sound journey, at the end of which the reconciliation with the world is accomplished."
Antonio Dambra - flute, piccolo
Francesco Lorenza - oboe, english horn
Francesco Manfredi - clarinet
Michele Motola - alto saxphone
Gianfranco Menzella - tenor and baritone saxophone
Riccardo Rinaldi - bassoon
Vito Vernì - french horn
Francesco Panico - trumpet
Francesco Tritto - trombone
Alessio Anzivino - tuba
Giuliana Di Mitrio - mezzo-soprano
Michele Fracchiolla - drums, vibraphone, marimba, percussions
Simona Armenise - classic, acoustic, electric guitars, mandolin
Rocco Lomonaco - classic, acoustic, electric guitars, banjo
Tommaso De Vito Francesco - electric bass, double bass
Giuseppe Manfredi - keyboards
Duilio Maci - violin
Grazia De Vito Francesco - violin
Paola De Candia - cello
Composed, orchestrated, directed and produced by Rocco Lomonaco

  • LabelAltrOck
  • UPC0634065204921
Your Price $16.00

Customer Reviews