DAAU (Die Anarchistische Abendunterhaltung) - Eight Definitions

SKU 15-8714374963527
Avant chamber-rock with R.I.O. type leanings and modern production touches and values. Very good stuff from a band who has been doing it their own way for nearly 20 years!

"Four years after their fairly subdued ‘The Shepherd’s Dream’ album, Die Anarchistische Abendunterhaltung, commonly known as DAAU, are finally ready to launch a new recording. ‘Eight Definitions’ is the seventh album by the Antwerp based band in twenty years.

Since their last record, DAAU’s line-up has gone through some changes again. Cellist and founding member Simon Lenski has left the familiar nest in order to move to Berlin. Not only did his departure affect the group’s musical dynamics, inevitably it also changed their sound.

Currently DAAU consists of Han Stubbe (clarinet), Roel Van Camp (accordeon) and Hannes d’Hoine (double bass), but in concert the trio will be supplemented by drummer Steven Cassiers (a member of Dez Mona and Dans Dans), who was also actively involved with the recording of ‘Eight Definitions’.

Cellist Simon and violin player Buni Lenski, who quit after ‘Domestic Wildlife’, both guest on the new album. Buni’s contributions can even be heard on five out of the seven tracks. “DAAU remains like a family to us”, Stubbe says. “Hence the Lenski brothers are likely to play on our future recordings, and they will continue sharing the stage with us whenever they have the time to do so.”

  • LabelExcelsior
  • UPC8714374963527
Your Price $16.00

Customer Reviews