El'Zabar, Kahil - America The Beautiful

SKU 39-CD-KEZ-005X
Kahil El’Zabar - composition /arrangements /conduction /multi-percussion /flute
Corey Wilkes – trumpet (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9)
Hamiet Bluiett - baritone sax (1,3,4,6,9)
Tomeka Reid – cello (1,3,4,6,9)
Dennis Winslett – alto sax (1,3,4,6,9)
Samuel Williams – violin (1,3,4,6,9)
James Sanders String Quartet (2,5,7,8)
Joshua Ramos - acoustic bass (2,5,7,8)
Miguel de la Cerna – keyboard (2,5,7,8)
Babu Atiba - African percussion (2,8)
Ernie Adams – percussion (2,8)
Robert Irving III - piano (9)

“This incredible album features Kahil El’Zabar with an extended ensemble of woodwinds, brass, strings and an array of Afro-percussion, showcasing extraordinary players such as Corey Wilkes, Tomeka Reid, James Sanders, Josh Ramos, Miguel de la Cerna, Ernie Adams and Hamiet Bluiett (to whom this album is dedicated, as this was his last recording).
El’Zabar developed the initial inspiration for this project from his musical origins in the above mentioned documentary, and later added new works that would explore issues related to current affairs and past histories of America and the globe, regarding race, ecology, economic disparity, and his hopes, aspirations and love for a better world yet to come.
The album’s theme is a unique reworking of the anthem ‘America the Beautiful’ into a multi-layered cacophony of altered harmonies and contrapuntal rhythms that speak to the bittersweet ironies of American society. Familiar classics such as ‘Express Yourself’, ‘How Can We Mend a Broken Heart’ and a killer, Afrocentric version of ‘Afro Blue’, have all been re-written with El’Zabar’s original arrangements and conducted by him in way that engages the listener in an audible landscape of thoughts and emotion that transverse the greater meaning of living in these times. El’Zabar’s powerful new compositions such as “Freedom March”, ‘Jump and Shout (For Those Now Gone’) and “That We Ask Of Our Creator”, further explore the adventure of melody to dissonance within the romance and passion of creative improvised music.”
  • LabelSpiritmuse
  • UPC634457031609
Your Price $13.00

Customer Reviews