Gong - Love From The Planet Gong : The Virgin Years 1973-1975 : 12 CDs + 1 5.1 / hi-res blu-ray box set (due to weight, this price for the USA only. Outside of the USA, the price will be adjusted as needed)

SKU 28-Virgin 6758901

Curated by Steve Hillage and released with the full involvement of original members, legendary psychedelic surrealists Gong are the subject of a new Box Set with the release of Love From Planet Gong: The Virgin Years 1973-1975.
Released to coincide with Gong’s 50th Anniversary, the box set covers the band’s classic years in a stunning package that includes: their seminal first four Virgin studio albums plus bonus tracks; previously unreleased, multi-tracked full gigs, the complete John Peel Sessions from 1973 and 1974; previously unreleased quad Pye and Westlake mixes of ‘You’ re-formatted to 5.1 surround-sound, and artwork including a 64 page lyric book and rare and previously unseen work by the late Daevid Allen.
Re-mastered by original engineer Simon Heyworth, the box contains official material (Flying Teapot, Angel's Egg, You, Shamal), previously unreleased pieces, multi-tracked full gigs, the complete John Peel sessions from 1973 and 1974, quad Pye and Westlake mixes of You (re-formatted to 5.1 surround-sound), and much more.
* The first 4 Virgin Records studio albums plus bonus tracks.
* First CD release of the original ‘Flying Teapot’ masters. Beautifully remastered with previously unreleased bonus mixes.
* First CD release of ‘Shamal’ from the original masters. Superbly remastered with previously unreleased bonus mixes.
* The complete John Peel sessions from BBC Radio One from 1973 and 1974.
* 2 CDs of the full gig at Club Arc En Ciel, Roanne, France in 1973.
* 1 CD of the full gig at the renowned free concert in Hyde Park, London in 1974.
* 2 CDs of full 1975 gig at the London Marquee Club including first live recordings of tracks from ‘Shamal’ and Steve Hillage’s debut solo LP, ‘Fish Rising’.
* 2 CDs of the entire gig at The Bataclan, Paris in 1973.
* 2 tracks recorded at the Edinburgh Festival in 1973.
* Includes the previously unreleased quadrophonic Pye and Westlake Studio mixes of You.
* Notes by Gong archivist Jonny Greene of the Gong Appreciation Society and artwork including rare and previously unseen artwork by Daevid Allen.
* 64-page illustrated lyric booklet that includes Angel’s Egg’s famously quirky and informative ‘Blue Book’ and a new companion to Flying Teapot ‘Green Book’.”

disc 1: Flying Teapot + 5 bonus tracks
disc 2: Angel's Egg + 4 bonus tracks
disc 3: You + 2 bonus tracks
disc 4: Shamal + 3 bonus tracks
disc 5: BBC sessions + 2 Live In Edinburgh 1973 tracks
discs 6 + 7: Live At The Bataclan 1973
discs 8 + 9: Live At Club Arc En Ciel 1973
disc 10: Live In Hyde Park 1974
disc 11 + 12: Live At The Marquee 1975
disc 13: You DVD (surround mix)
  • LabelVirgin
  • UPC0602567589013
Your Price $215.00

Customer Reviews