Halvorson, Mary - Illusionary Sea

SKU 28-FRHO401017.2
"This album is the debut of her seven-piece ensemble. The album features six Halvorson originals, where the four-horn blend brings deeper sonority, orchestral possibility, and an increased level of intricacy to Halvorson’s distinctive compositional voice. The album closes with a surprise tribute to one of her musical heroes, Robert Wyatt of Soft Machine fame. Mary’s exquisite arrangement of “Nairam,” penned by Belgian guitarist Philip Catherine and recorded under the title “Maryan” on Wyatt’s album Shleep, is the first cover to appear of any of Halvorson’s albums as leader."
Mary Halvorson: guitar
John Hébert: bass
Ches Smith: drums
Jonathan Finlayson: trumpet
Jon Irabagon: alto saxophone
Jacob Garchik: trombone
Ingrid Laubrock: tenor saxophone
  • LabelFirehouse 12
  • UPC616892135548
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews