Hendryx, Nona / Gary Lucas - The World Of Captain Beefheart

SKU 28-KFW11141.2
Nona Hendryx-vocals
Gary Lucas-guitar
Jesse Krakow-bass
Jordan Shapiro-keyboards
Richard Dworkin-drums

Gary, Jesse and Richard all worked together in Cuneiform's Fast 'n' Bulbous, Jordan I don't know and Nona is, of couse, the great vocalist from LaBelle, as well as being a featured singer with Talking Heads, Peter Gabriel, David Bowie and many other a-listers.
This is a great, rocking and soulful take on some of Don's most 'songy songs' (and also some surprises too, such as When Big Joan Sets Up!) and shows that great songwriting can take any interpretation.

"The World of Captain Beefheart is a new album created by Gary Lucas, a guitarist who spent time helping Don Van Vliet create some of his later albums. It is Lucas that creates the music for the album. Helping Lucas out with the creation of the new album is singer Nona Hendryx who has a history creating some very original material of her own as well as backing up people like Patti LaBelle. As you listen to the album, you can tell that Hendryx’s voice seems just perfect for interpreting the musical direction of the lyrics to the songs from Van Vliet. Together, the two artists and a few of their friends have taken some of the best music from Captain Beefheart’s musical library and compiled those songs into the album called The World of Captain Beefheart.
As there are thirteen albums to pick from in order to create the playlist for the tribute, a decision as to what would be used had to be made. Taking a look at the playlist for the new tribute album, Gary Lucas and Nona Hendryx have focused on some of Captain Beefheart’s more well-known albums. Along with other albums, the songs for this release were taken largely from Clear Spot and Safe as Milk which the songs from those albums account for about half of the release."-Rock And Roll Report
1. Sun Zoom Spark
2. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains
3. Sure 'Nuff 'N Yes I Do
4. I'm Glad
5. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (or The Big Dig)
6. Her Eyes Are a Blue Million Miles
7. Suction Prints
8. Sugar 'N Spikes
9. When Big Joan Sets Up
10. Too Much Time
11. When It Blows Its Stacks
12. Tropical Hot Dog Night

  • LabelKnitting Factory
  • UPC720841114123
Your Price $15.00

Customer Reviews