Incredible String Band - The 5000 Spirits or the Layers of the Onion (remastered/digipack)

SKU 05-Fled 3077
"The second album by The Incredible String Band, The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion was first released in July 1967. With Clive Palmer having left for India, Mike Heron and Robin Williamson were accompanied by Danny Thompson on double bass and Licorice on vocals and percussion. The album demonstrated the beginnings of what Williamson describes as using the studio as a giant paint box. Standout songs include Heron's "The Hedgehog's Song," Williamson's beautiful "First Girl I Loved" (later recorded by Judy Collins, Jackson Browne and many others) and his "The Mad Hatter's Song." Enthusiastic reviews in the music press were accompanied by appearances at venues such as London's UFO Club (co-owned by Boyd), and Queen Elizabeth Hall. Their exposure on John Peel's "Perfumed Garden" radio show on the pirate ship Radio London, and later on BBC's "Top Gear," made them favorites with the emerging UK underground audience. The album went to #1 on the UK folk chart, and was named by Paul McCartney as one of his favorite records of that year. Carefully re-mastered by original producer Joe Boyd and engineer John Wood. Housed in a stunning digipack with all the elements of the original artwork. New sleevenotes from Mike Heron. Mike Heron (lead vocals, harmonica and guitar), Robin Williamson (lead vocals, bowed and bass gimbri, guitar, flute, Soma sitar, tamboura, drums, rattles, oud and mandolin), Danny Thompson (double bass), Licorice (vocals and finger cymbals), John Hopkins (piano), Nazir Jarazbhoy (sitar, tamboura)."
  • LabelFledg'ling
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews