Isobar - Isobar

SKU TA 058
Jim Anderson, bass
Malcolm Smith, guitars
Marc Spooner, keyboards
with Mattias Olsson, drums
Evan Weiss, trumpet (2, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13)
Ben Bohorquez, saxophone (2, 6, 8, 10, 13)
Lonnie Cory, trumpet (4, 5, 7)
Tony Abena, saxophone (4, 5, 7)

Very good debut of instrumental, progressive rock sounds from folks you probably have heard in other contexts...

“The eponymously-named debut album presents over an hour of exceptional, engaging compositions. Isobar’s brand of progressive rock highlights a sense of adventure and quirkiness, featuring unusual melodies, unpredictable harmonic convergences, changing time signatures, eclectic arrangements, and tight musical figures. A fresh, modern angle to progressive rock, Isobar satisfies discerning listeners who seek novel, interesting compositions accomplished with musical depth and satisfying complexity.
Isobar is a new band created out of the ashes of the acclaimed Californian outfit Mertaphor, aided by Mattias Olsson (Änglagård) amongst others.
The album is an all-instrumental collection of intricately crafted jazz flavoured prog that ventures also into a much wider range of genres. Classy stuff!”
  • LabelTrope Audio
  • UPC666449087899
Your Price $11.00

Customer Reviews