Jackson, Michael Gregory - Clarity

SKU 05-ESP 3028
David Murray - tenor sax
Oliver Lake - flute, soprano & alto sax, flugel horn, talking drum, cowbell
Wadada Leo Smith - trumpet, soprano trumpet, flugel horn, Indian flute
Michael Gregory Jackson - acoustic guitar, vocal, electric guitar, electric mandolin, bamboo flute, timpani, marimba, percussion

"Before his career defining records on Arista/Novus in the 80s and 90s, jazz and fusion guitarist Michael Gregory Jackson recorded his debut for ESP-Disk'. The sessions, recorded in New York, Connecticut and Los Angeles in the summer of 1976 are wildly meditative and personify the seventies laid-back vibe. A trio of soft, lilting melodies set the mood; David Murray on tenor sax, Oliver Lake on flute, and the album's leader, Michael Gregory Jackson, on acoustic guitar. The unfolding stream of ideas make these improvisations vital today; arrhythmic strumming, an enchanted R&B vocal from Mr. Jackson, avant percussive clatter, processed electric guitar, and fiery horn lines over timpani and flute. Composer and trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith, cited as a major influence by Mr. Jackson himself, is featured on the album."
  • LabelESP
Your Price $15.00

Customer Reviews