Mastelotto, Pat / Markus Reuter - Face (Mega Blowout Sale)

SKU SPV 80602
"Face is the latest release from drummer and percussionist Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson, Stick Men, Mr. Mister) and touch guitarist Markus Reuter (Stick Men, Crimson ProjeKct, Tuner).
Housed in an provocatively surreal cover featuring artwork by Tool’s Adam Jones, FACE consists of just one 35 minute-long track FACE presents a musical travelogue rich in detail and panoramic in scope and scale, filled with contrasting scenes, dramatic landscapes and inspiring vistas.
Germany-based touch guitarist and composer of FACE, Markus Reuter says, “It’s like a journey where you’re mapping out where you’re going but then as it gets underway you have no idea which people you’re going to meet along the way, or what’s going to happen.”
Boasting sixteen guest contributors, including Steven Wilson, David Lynch collaborator Chrysta Bell and The Rembrandts’ Danny Wilde, Reuter and Texas-based Pat Mastelotto, FACE has been nine years in the making.
With echoes of Mike Oldfield’s melodicism, Crimsonesque complexities, churning bass that wouldn’t be out of place in classic-era Yes and even languid Floyd-like soloing, the link to a progressive rock vocabulary is unmistakable.
...With so much of the album’s heavy lifting undertaken by the duo, the sonic palette was broadened with guest contributions. “I wanted something organic going on,” Mastelotto explains. That’s why there’s all sorts of different instruments appearing; strings, trombone, banjo and so on. Instead of getting those sounds on a synth we wanted to give it a little human touch.”
Markus Reuter: Touch Guitars, Bass Guitar, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitars, Melodica, Grand Piano, Banjo, Bulbul Tarang, Omnichord, Synthesizer
Pat Mastelotto: Acoustic and Electronic Drums and Percussives
Fabio Trentini: Electric Guitars, Guitar Synth, Fretless Bass
Tim Motzer: Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Ukulele
Mark Williams: Mandocello, Fretless Bass, Cello, Voice
Monica Champion: Clarinet, Saxophone, Voice
Steven Wilson: Vocal Chords
Annette Franzen: Violin
Adrian Benavides: Electric Guitar
Michael Mordecai: Trombone
Marcus Graf: Trumpet
Chrysta Bell: Voice
Brad Houser: Bass Clarinet
Luca Calabrese: Flügelhorn
Michael Bernier: Bowed Stick
Danny Wilde: Voice
Yoshi Hampl: Voice
Renée Stieger: Voice
  • LabelSPV
  • UPC886922806025
Your Price $9.00

Customer Reviews