Melford, Myra / Snowy Egret - The Other Side Of Air

SKU 28-FRHO120401029.2
Myra Melford (piano)
Ron Miles (cornet)
Liberty Ellman (guitar)
Stomu Takeishi (acoustic bass guitar)
Tyshawn Sorey (drums)

Another extremely fine release from pianist / composer Melford, who always seems to bring out the best in her band members (and she’s dealing with some exceedingly ‘best’ already!!

“Bay Area pianist Myra Melford – whom the New Yorker called “a stalwart of the new-jazz movement” – has spent the last three decades making brilliant original music, in equal parts challenging and engaging. She has explored an array of formats, from dynamic solo-piano recitals to deeply interactive small groups and even the swinging grandeur of the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. But it’s her quintet Snowy Egret that best defines her artistry in 2018: “I really feel like it’s the vehicle that expresses where I am as a composer, performer and bandleader right now,” she says.”
  • LabelFirehouse12
  • UPC843563106259
Your Price $16.00

Customer Reviews