Mitchell, Nicole / Lisa E. Harris - Earthseed

SKU 21-FPE 027CD
Nicole Mitchell’s Black Earth Ensemble :
Lisa E. Harris, vocals / theremin / electronics / composition
Nicole M. Mitchell, flute / electronics / composition
Julian Otis, vocals
Zara Zaharieva, violin
Ben LaMar Gay, trumpet / electronics
Tomeka Reid, cello
Avreeayl Ra, percussion

“The work of award-winning African American science fiction author Octavia E. Butler becomes increasingly prophetic as we move through the challenges of the new century. Her novels ''Parable of the Sower'' (1993) and ''Parable of the Talents'' (1996) use fiction to illuminate a horrific unraveling of 21st-century America into a despotic chaos where its once-middle-class citizens struggle to survive in an incredibly violent and fragmented reality, void of normalcy, family, and resources. In the 1990s, Butler's Parables warned readers about a possible disintegration of American culture and infrastructure, among the many risks of tyrannical rule. Within Butler's storyline, the character Lauren Oya Olamina, a preacher's daughter of African heritage, helps to rebuild her community through offering Earthseed, an egalitarian philosophy and spiritual practice which honors inquiry, independent thinking, and realistic acceptance of constant change.”
  • LabelFPE
  • UPC857827004397
Your Price $14.00

Customer Reviews