Nelson, BIll - Live at Metropolis Studios, London 2 x CDs + DVD

SKU 15-CVX 902140
"At the end of March 2011, Bill Nelson and the Gentlemen Rocketeers, along with one hundred plus guests, populated Studio A at Metropolis, West London, for a dynamite concert reminiscent of the Marquee club in its heyday. A blistering fourteen song set from the band, which covers much of Bill’s career to date, was the result. We’re delighted to present that set here on both CD and DVD, together with an interview with Bill and a sublime four track solo set as DVD extras.
Wielding an array of gorgeous-looking guitars, Bill and his cohorts treated those present to a fantastic show, notable particularly for the fact that they performed a number of rarely heard Bebop Deluxe numbers - classics like Night Creatures, Ships In The Night, Sister Seagull and Adventures In A Yorkshire Landscape.
Sound quality is superb, thanks to Bill himself mixing the multi-track, while the six-man group he fronts deliver brilliantly on the diversity of styles Nelson has essayed. With 90 minutes of music plus extras on offer, this is a feast for Nelsonophiles (not to mention electric guitar fetishists). And with two compact discs as an alternative to the DVD, there are even more ways it can be enjoyed.
Featuring rare renditions of seldom-performed Bebop Deluxe material.
Deluxe digipack with 12-page illustrated and annotated booklet."

01. The October Man
02. Night Creatures
03. God Man Slain
04. Contemplation
05. Lady You're A Strange Girl
06. Adventures In A Yorkshire Landscape
07. Furniture Music
08. Do You Dream In Colour
09. Ships In The Night
10. Lovers Are Mortal
11. Maid In Heaven
12. Sister Seagull
13. Wonder Of The Moment
14. Panic In The World
Bonus material
01. Beyond These Clouds The Sweetest Dream
02. Golden Dream Of Circus Horses
03. A Dream For Ian
04. For Stuart
05. Interview with Bill Nelson
  • Format TypePAL
  • Region CodingAll Region
  • LabelConveyor
  • UPC680889021404
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews