Procol Harum - A Salty Dog (expanded) 2 x CDs

SKU 23-ECLEC 22503
"This is a newly re-mastered and expanded edition of the classic 1969 album A SALTY DOG by PROCOL HARUM.

Released in June 1969, the record followed on from the huge international success of the band's debut single "A Whiter Shade of Pale" and the follow up single "Homburg" and the superb albums PROCOL HARUM and SHINE ON BRIGHTLY.

One of the finest releases of the era "A Salty Dog" saw the exquisite song writing of Gary Brooker and Keith Reid honed to perfection on highlights such as the album's title track, "The Devil Came From Kansas", "Wreck of the Hesperus", "The Milk of Human Kindness" and more.

Recorded at Abbey Road studios, the album captured the excellence of the musicians in the group, namely Gary Brooker (voice, piano), Robin Trower (lead guitar), David Knights (bass guitar), B.J. Wilson (drums) and Matthew Fisher (Hammond organ).

Newly re-mastered from the original tapes, this Deluxe edition of "A Salty Dog" has been expanded to include 12 bonus tracks (5 previously unreleased) over two CDs, including the mono single mix of the title track and its non-album B-side; an early take of 'The Milk Of Human Kindness', plus five previously unreleased tracks from BBC Radio sessions from October 1968 & May 1969 along with four live tracks recorded in the USA in April 1969.

This expanded deluxe edition of "A Salty Dog" also includes a lavishly illustrated booklet that fully restores the original album artwork and features a new essay by Procol Harum biographer Henry Scott-Irvine."
Disc 1:
A Salty Dog
The Milk Of Human Kindness
Too Much Between Us
The Devil Came From Kansas
Juicy John Pink
Wreck Of The Hesperus
All This And More
Crucifiction Lane
Pilgrims Progress
Disc 2:
Skip Softly My Moonbeams
Wish Me Well
Long Gone Geek
Goin' Down Slow
Skip Softly My Moonbeams / Also Sprach Zarathustra
  • LabelEsoteric
  • UPC5013929460348
Your Price $19.00

Customer Reviews