Rainey, Tom / Mary Halvorson / Ingrid Laubrock - Camino Cielo Echo

SKU 34-Intakt 199
Tom Rainey: Drums / Ingrid Laubrock: Saxophones / Mary Halvorson: Guitar

"Tom Rainey, informed by free improvisation and subtle compositional strategies, and by echoes of jazz eras and modes of conduct past and future, is one of the important persons of interest in the realm of creative musical action at this moment in history. While Rainey's evocative, time-morphing and occasionally implosive drumming plays a central role in the musical materiality here, his trio with Ingrid Laubrock and Mary Halvorson is very much an integrated ensemble. Laubrock is a saxophonist of unusual textural sensitivity and intellectual savvy, who can summon up proper deposits of abandon, knowing restraint and sly references to jazz' past in the midst of her purely improvisational explorations. Halvorson, one of the important "avant-jazz" guitarists of her generation, takes the abstracting and deconstructionist influence and has come up with her own way of melding that freestyling painterliness with shards of line and sonics. Together, they make a refreshing new and not-sentimental kind of beautiful music."-Josef Woodard
  • LabelIntakt
  • UPC7640120191993
Your Price $19.00

Customer Reviews