Staino, Moe - Away Towards The Light [For Guitar Ensemble] vinyl lp (due to size and weight, this price for the USA only. Outside of the USA, the price will be adjusted as needed)

SKU EDG 4241
“Moe Staiano is a musician and composer based in Oakland, California. Since the late 1990’s he has been a part of the creative music scene there with performances of solo percussion, and ensembles of many musicians performed under the moniker Moe!kestra! with composed and conducted improvisation pieces.
Since about 2016, he abandoned the loose guided improv style and has focused on more structured, academic compositions of guitar ensembles, with his first guitar piece, Away Towards the Light, composed that year. An exploration of tonal interplay and contrasting rhythms from nine electric guitars, bass, and drums, Away Towards the Light is composed in three movements, and is his first composition for multiple electric guitars. The guitar groups play against one another in bouncing rhythms and ongoing hockets, alternating between soft bell-like sustain and bombastic chord clusters in a repeating minimalist setting, recounting the musical stylings of Glenn Branca, Rhys Chatham, or even Arnold Dreyblatt.
Since this piece was performed, he has a new three-movement guitar composition, Music for 48 Guitars, which has yet to be performed and premiered.
Moe was a former member of Sleepytime Gorilla Museum and currently fronts the post punk band, Surplus 1980.”
  • LabelEdgetone
  • UPC810096655752
Your Price $20.00

Customer Reviews