Various Artists - I Never Meta Guitar (solo guitars for the 21st century)

SKU Clean Feed CFG 005
With unreleased tracks by: Mary Halvorson / Jeff Parker / Henry Kaiser / Jean-François Pauvro / Raoul Björkenheim / Noel Akchote / Nels Cline / Brandon Ross / Mike Cooper / Michael Gregory / Scott Fields / Kazuhisa Uchihashi / Mick Barr / Gunnar Geisse / Elliott Sharp

"Curated by Elliott Sharp, this compilation presents the "state of the art" in today's guitar. Included are some of the most established pioneers, like Henry Kaiser, Jean-François Pauvros, Michael Gregory, Mike Cooper, Brandon Ross, Jeff Parker and, of course, Sharp himself, but also the new heroes of the electric or acoustic six-string instrument: Nels Cline, Raoul Bjorkenheim, Noel Akchoté, Scott Fields, and Mary Halvorson, plus some less internationally known (but no less remarkable) figures active in the domains of free improvisation and experimental music, namely Janet Feder, Kazuhisa Uchihashi, Mick Barr, and Gunnar Geisse. Every idiomatic reference or influence is in the equation, from folk, blues, jazz, rock, and noise to classical contemporary, world music, lounge, and exotica, in a myriad of individual concepts showing us the very wide field of possibilities which characterizes the art of sounds in this beginning of the 21st century. As Elliott Sharp writes on his liner notes, this diversity is guaranteed by musicians who have "one foot in the future and one in the past": artists with "their ass directly in the NOW". These are the representatives of some of the most rewarding guitar music played these days for you to wonder and cherish."
  • LabelClean Feed
Your Price $15.00

Customer Reviews