Warriors Of The Wonderful Sound - Soundpath

SKU CF 556
Marty Ehrlich conductor/alto saxophone
Bobby Zankel alto saxophone
Julian Pressley alto saxophone
Robert DeBellis tenor and soprano saxophone
Hafez Modirzadeh tenor saxophone
Mark Allen baritone saxophone
Dave Ballou trumpet
Dwayne Eubanks trumpet
Graham Haynes cornet
Josh Evans trumpet
Steve Swell trombone
Michael Dessen trombone
Alfred Patterson trombone
Jose Davilla bass trombone
Michael Formanek bass
Tom Lawton piano
Chad Taylor drums

“Some years before his death, pianist Muhal Richard Abrams received a commission from Bobby Zankel and his Warriors of the Wonderful Sound: to write new big band music for this Philadelphian ensemble known for what they did before with scores signed by Julius Hemphill, Rudresh Mahanthappa and Steve Coleman.
He composed the 70 pages and 16 parts of “Soundpath” and attended the first rehearsals. The premiere in 2012 was a success, but only in 2018 – some months after Abrams passed away – a second opportunity to present it publically was possible, during the October Revolution festival.
Some adaptations were made: Zankel invited Marty Ehrlich (who worked closely with the invited composer) as the conductor and some extra instrumentalists familiar with the master’s musical visions were added.
The concert received a second standing ovation and the 17 musicians went to studio the next day. This is the resulting document, a historic one you don’t want to miss. Justice done.”
  • LabelClean Feed
  • UPC5609063005561
Your Price $15.00

Customer Reviews