XTC - Drums and Wires CD + 5.1 / hi-res Blu-Ray (expanded / remixed / remastered)

SKU 23-Ape BD 103
Note - this isn't just a 'remaster'. Steven Wilson has gone back to the original multi-tracks and remixed them. If you want it just as you have always heard it, you won't like this, but if you want to hear parts that were very low level to the point of inaudibility before and now can actually be heard (much in the same way Steve Wilson re-did King Crimson "Lizard", Yes' "Close To The Edge" or our remix of the 1st Univers Zero), then I highly recommend this one!

"The revolutionary Drums And Wires, from 1979, is the second in a series of expanded XTC album reissues, including 5.1 Surround mixes, new stereo mixes and High-Resolution stereo mixes.

Steven Wilson has produced the new mixes with the input of founder band member Andy Partridge and the full approval of the band.
Presented as a double digi-pack format in a slipcase with an expanded booklet and sleeve-notes by Andy Partridge, Colin Moulding and Dave Gregory, this is the cd and blu-ray version."

This is one of XTC's (many) great releases &, in fact, their first with Dave Gregory and their first really great one. Here's what you get:
Format: 1 x CD/1 x BLU-Ray

1) Making Plans For Nigel
2) Helicopter
3) Day In Day Ou
t 4) When You're Near Me I Have Difficulty
5) Ten Feet Tall
6) Roads Girdle the Globe
7) Real By Reel
8) Millions
9) That Is The Way
10) Outside World
11) Scissor Man
12) Complicated Game
Bonus tracks:
13) Chain Of Command
14) Limelight
15) Life Begins At The Hop
16) Homo Safari
17) Ten Feet Tall (electric version)
18) Wait β€˜Til Your Boat Goes Down

Blu-Ray (Region 0, NTSC):
Presented in 24bit/96khz LPCM Audio
Album mixed in 5.1 Surround
- Steven Wilson stereo mix and original album mix in High Resolution stereo.
Blu-Ray exclusive material includes:
Numerous additional stereo and 5.1 tracks, new stereo album instrumental mixes, 5 demo sessions and promo films for the singles Making Plans for Nigel and Life Begins At The Hop.
Bonus tracks remixed into stereo and 5.1:
1) Life Begins at the Hop*
2) Homo Safari
(A+B side to Life Begins at the Hop single, UK release April 1979)
3) Chain of Command
4) Limelight
(A+B side to free single included with initial pressing of Drums and Wires, UK release August 1979)
5) Bushman President
6) Pulsing Pulsing
(B-sides to Making Plans for Nigel single, UK release Sep 1979)
7) Wait 'Til Your Boat Goes Down
8) Ten Feet Tall – electric version
(A+B side to Wait Til Your Boat Goes Down single, UK release March 1980)
9) Officer Blue
(Drums and Wires out-take – B-side to Respectable Street single, UK release March 1981)
10) Over Rusty Water
(Drums and Wires out-take – B-side to No Thugs in Our House single, UK release May 1982)
11) Sleepyheads
(Drums and Wires out-take, first released on Coat of Many Cupboards box set, UK release 2002)
* (Life Begins at the Hop is the original stereo master due to multitrack tapes being unavailable, the 5.1 version is a Penteo upmix)
New stereo mix = 12 tracks
Original stereo mix = 12 tracks
Instrumental mixes = 12 tracks
5.1 mix = 12 tracks
Bonus tracks new stereo mixes = 11 tracks
Bonus tracks 5.1 = 11 tracks
Demo session 1 = 6 tracks
Demo session 2 = 4 tracks
Demo session 3 = 4 tracks
Demo session 4 = 4 tracks
Rehearsal tape = 20 tracks
DJM re-recordings = 3 tracks
Various original alternate mixes = 4 tracks
Promo videos = 2 track
  • LabelApe House
  • UPC633367784025
Your Price $22.00

Customer Reviews