Yes - Close To The Edge CD + 5.1 / hi-res Blu-Ray (expanded / remixed)

SKU 23-GYRBD 50012
Note - this isn't just a 'remaster'. Steven Wilson has gone back to the original multi-tracks and remixed them. If you want it just as you have always heard it, you won't like this, but if you want to hear parts that were very low level to the point of inaudibility before and now can actually be heard (much in the same way Steve Wilson re-did King Crimson "Lizard" or our remix of the 1st Univers Zero), then I highly recommend this one!

"Let me preface my observations of the CTTE remix by saying that I don’t put these classic albums on a pedestal. If they can be sonically improved while remaining faithful to the original mix and maintaining musicality and the emotional content then I’m all for it. In general I liked what Steven Wilson did with the King Crimson catalog. I was particularly impressed by his reconstruction and resurrection of Lizard. When I heard he was tackling the Yes catalog I was hopeful because if there was ever a band that could use some sonic wizardry its Yes. Eddy Offord was never able to bring the magic to their mixes that he was able to give to ELP.

So how did Steven Wilson do with CTTE? I can only use one word to describe the new mix: “transformative”. CTTE was an album cobbled together from various bits and pieces. Its widely acknowledged to be the band’s best album (its certainly my opinion) but in terms of sonics it fell victim to the “too many cooks” syndrome. The original mix was a bit of a mess. Its all changed now.

The one thing that is immediately apparent is the foundation provided by Chris Squire’s bass. It reaches the pits of hell and if Mr. Wilson is going to take this approach with TFTO and Relayer he’s got my vote. In general there is a veil of schmutz that has been wiped away. All the instruments have more clarity and focus in the soundstage. “I Get Up I Get Down” was chilling. I found the soundstage consistently extended beyond the boundaries of my speakers. The mix is warm, involving and there is a balance among the instruments that I found lacking in the original mix - primarily because of Squire’s bass being given a shot of adrenaline. Jaw dropping stuff. The bonus track of “America” had exceptional, dare I say audiophile sound."-Ken Golden

FORMAT: 1 x CD/1 x Blu-Ray
1 Close to the Edge
2 And You And I
3 Siberian Khatru
Bonus Tracks:
4 America
5 Close to the Edge

Presented in DTS-HD Master Audio
– Album mixed in 5.1 Surround
– New Album mix
– Original Album mix (flat transfer)
– New Album mix (instrumental version)
– America original, new & instrumental stereo mixes & 5.1 Surround
– America original & new stereo mixes & 5.1 & in High-Resolution
+ further audio extras some exclusive to Blu-Ray edition
• Close to the Edge is the first in a series of remixed & expanded Yes Classics
• The classic album has been mixed for 5.1 Surround Sound from the original studio masters by Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree) & is fully approved by Yes.
• CD features a completely new stereo album mix by Steven Wilson
• CD also features a new mix of America
• CD also features an early mix/assembly of Close to the Edge
• Blu-Ray features 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio Surround (24bit/96khz) mixed from the original multi-channel recordings
. • Blu-Ray features the new stereo album mix in DTS-HD Master Audio (24bit/96khz).
• Blu-Ray also features the original album mix & America in a DTS-HD Master Audio flat transfers from the original master tape source. (24bit/192khz)
• Blu-Ray exclusively features instrumental versions of all new mixes in DTS-HD Master Audio stereo (24bit/96khz).
• Blu-Ray also exclusively features a needle-drop of an original UK vinyl A1/B1 pressing transferred in 24bit/96khz audio.
• Numerous audio extras appear in high-resolution stereo including single edits & studio run throughs of album tracks
• Original artwork by Roger Dean who has also overseen the artwork for this new edition
  • LabelPanegyric
  • UPC633367900227
Your Price $24.00

Customer Reviews