Yes - Close To The Edge CD + 5.1 / hi-res DVD-A (remixed / expanded / remastered)

SKU 23-GYRSP 50012
Note - this isn't just a 'remaster'. Steven Wilson has gone back to the original multi-tracks and remixed them. If you want it just as you have always heard it, you won't like this, but if you want to hear parts that were very low level to the point of inaudibility before and now can actually be heard (much in the same way Steve Wilson re-did King Crimson "Lizard" or our remix of the 1st Univers Zero), then I highly recommend this one!

Let me preface my observations of the CTTE remix by saying that I don’t put these classic albums on a pedestal. If they can be sonically improved while remaining faithful to the original mix and maintaining musicality and the emotional content then I’m all for it. In general I liked what Steven Wilson did with the King Crimson catalog. I was particularly impressed by his reconstruction and resurrection of Lizard. When I heard he was tackling the Yes catalog I was hopeful because if there was ever a band that could use some sonic wizardry its Yes. Eddy Offord was never able to bring the magic to their mixes that he was able to give to ELP.

So how did Steven Wilson do with CTTE? I can only use one word to describe the new mix: “transformative”. CTTE was an album cobbled together from various bits and pieces. Its widely acknowledged to be the band’s best album (its certainly my opinion) but in terms of sonics it fell victim to the “too many cooks” syndrome. The original mix was a bit of a mess. Its all changed now.

The one thing that is immediately apparent is the foundation provided by Chris Squire’s bass. It reaches the pits of hell and if Mr. Wilson is going to take this approach with TFTO and Relayer he’s got my vote. In general there is a veil of schmutz that has been wiped away. All the instruments have more clarity and focus in the soundstage. “I Get Up I Get Down” was chilling. I found the soundstage consistently extended beyond the boundaries of my speakers. The mix is warm, involving and there is a balance among the instruments that I found lacking in the original mix - primarily because of Squire’s bass being given a shot of adrenaline. Jaw dropping stuff. The bonus track of “America” had exceptional, dare I say audiophile sound."-Ken Golden

FORMAT: 1 x CD/1 x DVD-A
1 Close to the Edge
2 And You And I
3 Siberian Khatru
Bonus Tracks:
4 America
5 Close to the Edge


– Album mixed in 5.1 Surround from original multi-track sources.
– New Album mix
– Original Album mix (flat transfer)
Both in High Resolution Stereo
– America original & new stereo mixes & 5.1 & in High-Resolution

+ further audio extras

• Close to the Edge is the first in a series of remixed & expanded Yes Classics
• The classic album has been mixed for 5.1 Surround Sound from the original studio masters by Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree) & is fully approved by Yes.
• CD features a completely new stereo album mix by Steven Wilson
• CD also features a new mix of America
• CD also features an early mix/assembly of Close to the Edge
• DVD-A (compatible with all DVD players & DVD Rom players) features a 5.1 DTS Mix and High Resolution Stereo mixes.
• DVD-A players can, additionally, access a 5.1 Lossless audio mix (24bit 96khz).
• DVD-A features the new album mix in High Resolution stereo
• DVD-A also features the original album mix in a hi-res flat transfer from the original stereo master tape source.
• DVD-A also features numerous audio extras in high-resolution stereo including single edits & studio run- throughs.
• Original artwork by Roger Dean who has also overseen the artwork for this new edition
• Presented as a 2 x digi-pack format in a slipcase with new sleeve notes by writer Sid Smith along with rare photos & archive material.
  • Format TypeNTSC
  • Region CodingAll Region
  • LabelPanegyric
  • UPC633367900128
Your Price $18.00

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

"I have always liked "Close to the Edge" but thought the recording was terrible! I could never figure out how "The Yes Album" and "Fragile" were so crystal clear, while CTTE sounded like Eddie Offord ate his lunch off the master disc. This Steve Wilson remix version is a great improvement. Now, sounding almost as dynamic as "The Yes Album" or "Fragile", it's much better, with Squire's bass and especially Bruford's drums benefiting most from Wilson's largesse. The veil/haze/fog has indeed been lifted! Although the Steve Wilson mix on Disc 1 was the reason I bought this, DVD Disc 2 is interesting as well. It includes alternate versions of CTTE music, other remixes, plus the Yes cover of Paul Simon's "America", which may be the most changed version of a song ever done by a rock band. Yes should have just written different words and called it a new Yes song. There is a twenty-page booklet with extra photos, R. Dean art, and a well-written essay by Sid Smith with details of how the album was put together. Thanks to Steve W. for doing the remix, and to Steve F. for having it available. -T.A.
Was this review helpful?