Zamla Mammaz Manna - Familjesprickor

SKU 05-Silence 3612
Samla Mammas Manna was the original band of keyboardist/composer Lars Hollmer. They blended progressive with bits of folk elements & more. This was their last in their original lifetime, & has some simply amazing playing from all, including under-heralded guitar genius Eino Haapala.

"Their second album under their second band name, originally issued by Silence in 1980, now reissued.
Familjesprickor (Family Cracks) was the last album recorded by Zamla Mammaz Manna, until the group went back to their original name. This release was recorded over a long period of overseas touring and affiliation with Chris Cutler's Rock in Opposition project, and the results are reflected. Zamla lost their original drummer, Hans Bruniusson, and was replaced by Vilgot Hansson, with the band duly noting in the liner notes "a period of transition," with the music not as "optimistic and happy" as on previous releases.
This is by far the most avant prog release from the Samla/Zamla body of work -- Familjesprickor is a tense mixture of Henry Cow-like jams, interspersed with frenetic cartoon piano, hyperkinetic rhythms, and high-energy weird folk."
  • LabelSilence
  • UPC7391946108107
Your Price $16.00

Customer Reviews