Catapilla - Changes vinyl lp (due to size and weight, this price for the USA only. Outside of the USA, the price will be adjusted as needed)

SKU 05-TDP 54037LP
“Die-cut sleeve with flap; gatefold sleeve.
A reissue of Catapilla's Changes, originally released in 1972. Jazz-infused prog-rock act Catapilla began in London in 1970, with saxophonists Robert Calvert and Hugh Eaglestone, bassist Dave Taylor (of pop act Edison Lighthouse), drummer Malcolm Frith, guitarist Graham Wilson, and expressive clarinet player, Thierry Rheinhardt; vocalist Jo Meek was quickly replaced by her sister, Anna, whose gutsy gasps gave the band its noteworthy difference, along with the woodwinds and brass.
Former Millionaires' bassist Cliff Cooper brought the group to the attention of Black Sabbath's manager, Patrick Meehan, who got them a contract with Vertigo; like their self-titled debut, second LP Changes has four freaky tracks, but here the band is completely reborn, with bassist Carl Wassard, drummer Brian Hanson, and keyboardist Ralph Rolinson backing Rheinhardt and Meek.
Throughout, Rheinhardt's searing sax blows a musical foil to Meek's mercurial vocal moods, drifting between atmospheric interludes and brooding bursts on "Reflections," while "Charing Cross" gets its point across by subjecting Meek's fragmented vocals to heavy delay. A super esoteric and ultra-rare relic from the stranger end of prog.”
  • LabelTrading Places
  • UPC5060672880374
Your Price $29.00

Customer Reviews