Meier, Tommy - Root Down

SKU 34-Intakt 135
Tommy Meier: ts, bcl, conduction
Peter Schärli: tp
Russ Johnson: tp
Marco von Orelli: tp
Hans Anliker: tb
Michael Flury: tb
Hans Koch: bcl, ss
Co Streiff: as
Jürg Wickihalder: ss
Peter Landis: ts, bs
Stephan Thelen: g, loops, samples
Philipp Schaufelberger: g
Chris Wiesendanger: keyb
Irène Schweizer: p
Herbert Kramis: b
Christian Weber: b
Jan Schlegel: eb
Fredi Flükiger: dr
Marco Käppeli: dr
Chris Jäger: perc
Trixa Arnold: turntables
Joke Lanz: turntables

"The 15-piece orchestra ROOT DOWN brings together impressions and experiences of African music – more precisely, the melancholy music of homesick South African musicians in exile and the revolutionary protest music of self-conscious rebels. And Root Down combines these experiences (documents of their age) with the unbelievably wide range of individual experiences (musical and otherwise) of the fifteen musicians who have come together to create this unusual orchestra: with music of Fela Kuti, Chris Mc Gregor, Dudu Pukwana or compositions of bandleader Tommy Meier."
  • LabelIntakt
  • UPC7640120191351
Your Price $19.00

Customer Reviews