Zorn, John - On The Torment Of Saints, The Casting Of Spells And The Evocation Of Spirits

SKU TZ 9003
"Three pieces of magic and religious mysticism performed by a new generation of musical masters! Written as a companion piece to “Walpurgisnacht” (2004), “All Hallows’ Eve” is a tour de force in three movements for string trio—satanic counterpoint for the Witches’ Sabbath. Written as a gift to the ICE ensemble, Zorn wrote “The Tempest” as a musical reading of Shakespeare’s mystical and enigmatic last play. Finally, the virtuosic Chicago-based Fifth House Ensemble performs Zorn’s mini piano concerto in the form of a philosophical dialogue between St. Anthony and his tormentors."
Jay Campbell: Cello
Clark Carruth: Viola
Claire Chase: Flute
Nathan Davis: Drums, Percussion
David Fulmer: Viola
Crystal Hall: English Horn
Herine Coetzee Koschak: Cello
Matt Monroe: French Horn
Chris Otto: Violin
Jani Parsons: Piano
Joshua Rubin: Clarinet
Karl Rzasa: Bassoon
Melissa Snoza: Flute
Eric Snoza: Bass
Andrew Williams: Violin
Jennifer Woodrum: Clarinet
  • LabelTzadik
  • UPC702397900320
Your Price $13.00

Customer Reviews