Coleman, Steve - The Mancy of Sound

SKU 28-PIRC38.2
"The Mancy of Sound finds Steve Coleman at his creative peak, incorporating a lifetime of research into African Diasporic culture and cycles found in nature & astronomy into his musical methods. The current edition of his longtime band is perhaps his strongest ever. Of particular note are Jonathan Finlayson, who has been with the group for the last eight years and is one of the most highly regarded young trumpeters in jazz; and Jen Shyu, whose rhythmically incisive and tonally exacting vocals Coleman employs as an equal part in the horn section. Completely defying the traditional role of jazz singing, Shyu’s passionate vocals bring an emotional element to this complex and cutting-edge music. They are backed by an unusual two-drummer rhythm section featuring Tyshawn Sorey and Marcus Gilmore, considered by many to be the state-of-the-art in jazz."

Steve Coleman: alto sax, Jonathan Finlayson: trumpet, Tim Albright: trombone, Jen Shyu: vocals, Thomas Morgan: bass, Tyshawn Sorey, Marcus Gilmore: drums, Ramon Garcia Perez: percussion.

“As bewitching as anything I’ve ever heard … gorgeous.” — Ben Ratliff, New York Times

Bookmark and Sharea
  • LabelPi Recordings
  • UPC808713003826
Your Price $16.00

Customer Reviews