Hawkins, Alexander / Togetherness Music - For Sixteen Musicians featuring Evan Parker + Riot Ensemble CD

SKU 28-Intakt 361
Alexander Hawkins: Piano, Composition
Evan Parker: Soprano Saxophone
Aaron Holloway-Nahum: Conductor
Rachel Musson: Flute, Tenor Saxophone
Percy Pursglove: Trumpet
James Arben: Flute, Bass Clarinet
Neil Charles: Double Bass
Mark Sanders: Drums, Percussion
Matthew Wright: Electronics
Benedict Taylor: Viola
Hannah Marshall: Cello
The Riot Ensemble: Mandhira de Saram: Violin, Marie Schreer: Violin, Stephen Upshaw: Viola, Louise McMonagle: Cello, Marianne Schofield: Double bass

"With Togetherness Music, British pianist and composer Alexander Hawkins presents a fascinating musical panorama, a distillation and synthesis of different traditions and influences, reflecting the broad spectrum of an extraordinary musical spirit. Released to celebrate Hawkins' 40th birthday, this six-movement quasi-orchestral work is an extensive expansion and revision of a piece which originated with a commission from conductor and composer Aaron Holloway-Nahum for the Riot Ensemble, to feature Hawkins and saxophone icon Evan Parker – with whom Hawkins has enjoyed a now more than decade-long musical association – as soloists. The new incarnation of the work features the original forces, augmented by additional acoustic improvisers and the electronic wizardry of Matthew Wright.
Whilst the Riot Ensemble are primarily renowned for their performances of notated contemporary classical music, and Parker is one of the seminal figures in free improvisation and the post-Coltrane jazz continuum, roles shift fluidly throughout this work, creating an entirely distinctive soundworld."
  • LabelIntakt
  • UPC7640120193614
Your Price $19.00

Customer Reviews