Customers who purchased this item also purchased these items:

Hyrrokkin - Pristine Origin vinyl lp + download card (due to size and weight, this price for the USA only. Outside of the USA, the price will be adjusted as needed)

SKU New Atlantis NA-LP-100
Terrific, avant-progressive/brutal-prog, instrumental power trio from Ohio. These guys were previously known (with a slightly different line-up) as Kuan, another fine avant/brutal band. Personally recommended!

"Best New Band (2012): Hyrrokkin. Simply amazing. Think early Dischord meets jazz..." - David Obenour / Ghettoblaster Magazine

"Enjoying new Hyrrokkin EP: Astrionics. Don Cab/Hella�ish guitar meets a punk-fusion rhythm section." - Hank Shteamer / Time Out NY

"Hyrrokkin - 'Astrionics': 25 minutes of surprisingly hooky instrumental power trio skronk-rock." - Phil Freeman / Burning Ambulance

Pristine Origin is the debut LP from Hyrrokkin, an instrumental avant-rock power trio with boundless energy and a knack for navigating off-kilter, polyrhythmic arrangements. Pristine Origin features seven sprawling, energetic compositions, marked with the influence of serialism, free jazz, and the creative rock output from labels like Dischord, Homestead, and Touch & Go.

Just two months after forming the band in June of 2011, Hyrrokkin recorded their well-received cassette debut, Astrionics, and embarked on a six-week tour of North America. The group has since shared the stage with Mick Barr, William Hooker, Many Arms, and collaborated as members of Kid Million's Man Forever (Thrill Jockey), and with Black Flag guitar legend Greg Ginn.

The radical sound of the group reflects the cumulative musical experiences of the three musicians involved. Brett Nagafuchi (drums) and Paul Larkowski (guitar + bass) were both members of Kuan, an avant-punk band from Dayton, OH. Edward Ricart (guitar + bass) relocated from Washington, DC to Yellow Springs, OH to form the group, and has been a prolific member of the experimental music community. In addition to a rapidly expanding discography, he has worked alongside members of Fugazi, Bardo Pond, the Rollins Band, and Tortoise, as well as free-jazzers Peter Brotzmann, William Hooker, and Marshall Allen (of the Sun Ra Arkestra), among many others.

Pristine Origin was recorded by Jason LaFarge (Swans, Devendra Banhart, Sightings, Khanate) at Seizures Palace in Brooklyn, and mastered by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service. The LP features stunning art from noted photographer Oliver Wasow, expertly capturing in hyper-real clarity fascinating spaces in varying stages of decay. The tracks 'HAARP' and 'Tamariz' feature guest contributions from free jazz heavyweights Steve Swell (trombone), Roy Campbell Jr (trumpet), and Daniel Carter (soprano sax)."
  • LabelSick Room
  • UPC823346074012
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews