Wakeman, Alan - The Octet Broadcasts 1969 and 1979

SKU 28-GRBX1562.2
“Alan Wakeman is a British saxophonist and clarinettist who has been active since the 1960s. He is associated with Mike Westbrook, Paul Lytton, Soft Machine, and Graham Collier."

"The list of dramatis personae tells its own story: the cream of British jazz of the period assembled to play a series of imaginatively conceived compositions by Wakeman that move between inside and outside playing, swaying majestically between the exposition of powerful, Mingus-like themes that dissolve into abstraction only to elegantly reassemble and power majestically on." - Jazzwise ★★★★

"There is no-one who can touch us quite so deeply on a ballad, or raise the temperature on stage with such reckless abandon when the mood takes him." - Mike Westbrook

“The horns come charging out, and Beck’s piano, which starts with an almost free intro, goes into houserockin’ mode, taking up the majority of solo space as the horns sway and harmonize like background singers.” - Stereogum

Jazz Workshop 1969
Alan Wakeman: tenor sax, clarinet
Alan Skidmore: tenor sax, flute, two gongs at once
Mike Osborne: alto sax, clarinet, tambourine
Paul Rutherford: trombone, small Chinese gong
Paul Nieman: trombone, small Chinese gong
John Taylor: piano, castanets
Lindsay Cooper: bass, sleigh bells
Paul Lytton: drums

Jazz in Britain 1979
Alan Wakeman: tenor sax, soprano sax
Alan Skidmore: tenor sax
Art Themen: tenor sax
Henry Lowther: trumpet
Paul Rutherford: trombone
Gordon Beck: piano
Chris Lawrence: bass
Nigel Morris: drums
  • LabelGearbox
  • UPC5060708610166
Your Price $15.00

Customer Reviews