White, James - Melt Yourself Down CD

SKU 39-CD-MH-241
“Manic No Wave sax frenzy! James White tore up the city blueprints and charted his own map through the sonic sprawl of New York, perfecting a jittery, manic attack on sax and vocals and adopting the persona of a lounge singer in the waiting room of Hell. A maelstrom of chaotic transformations of funk, jazz (et al.) with equal parts James Brown and James White originals that rank among the most incendiary in his repertoire, this album is available for the first time outside of Japan.”

“This is my favorite James Chance & Contortions / James White & the Blacks album. It was recorded with his mid-1980s touring band right after a really hot tour and they were super tight. The title track and Hell on Earth are two of the best, but little known James Chance originals and the two James Brown covers get as funky as the Godfather of Soul himself, but with the twisted vocals and screaming sax of James Chance laid down on top. It's solid and badass!
The revamped Boulevard Of Broken Dreams and These Foolish Things feature some of James' best piano playing ever recorded, and the arrangements are unique and still fresh.
Featuring the vocals of sexy "Cherie Marilyn Monroe", guitars of Jerry Agony (RIP) and Chris Cunningham, Rodney Forstall on bass and Ralph Rolle on drums, and Wendy Whitelaw vocals on Hot Voodoo.
Less produced than Sax Maniac and more straight-ahead, this is a full frontal funk groove!”-David Siegfried
  • LabelModern Harmonic
  • UPC090771824127
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews