Zorn, John - Commedia Dell'Arte

SKU TZ 8347
"A fabulous and multifaceted suite celebrating the vibrant Italian dramatic form Commedia dell’arte that began in the 16th century and flourishes to this day. The classic archetypical characters Harlequin, Colombina, Scaramouch, Pulcinella and Pierrot are evoked in five compositional miniatures for small chamber ensembles: brass quintet, cello quartet, piano trio, vocal quartet and woodwinds. Premiered at the Guggenheim Museum in early 2016, the music contains some of Zorn’s finest writing and is a delight from first note to last. Over 20 of New York’s greatest musicians are involved in this exciting and varied suite of miniature masterpieces."
Kyle Armbrust: Viola
Eliza Bagg: Voice
Sarah Braile: Voice
Rachel Calloway: Voice
Jay Campbell: Cello
Claire Chase: Flute
Kevin Cobb: Trumpet
Steve Gosling: Piano
Louis Hanzlik: Trumpet
Rebekah Heller: Bassoon
Mihai Marica: Cello
Christian McBride: Bass
Mike Nicolas: Cello
Michael Powell: Trombone
Eric Reed: Horn
John D. Rojak: Bass Trombone
Josh Rubin: Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Kirsten Sollek: Voice
Tyshawn Sorey: Drums
Jeff Ziegler: Cello
  • LabelTzadik
  • UPC702397834724
Your Price $16.00

Customer Reviews