Zorn, John - The Alchemist

SKU TZ 8314
Special packaging!
"Zorn’s string quartets are some of the most important modern contributions to the canon and a new Zorn quartet is truly a cause for celebration. His sixth quartet is inspired by the hermetic Angelic actions of John Dee and is replete with the procedures of distillation, calcination, crystallization, sublimation, purification, rotation as well numerology, prayers, canons, contrapuntal complexity and the ghost of a familiar fugue. Also included is Zorn’s mystical response to the ancient Newgrange sacred site in Ireland, a beautiful and evocative setting of Amergin, one of the oldest Celtic sacred texts, written for three female voices."
Jay Campbell: Cello
David Fulmer: Violia
Mellissa Hughes: Voice
Pauline Kim: Violin
Jesse Mills: Violin
Jane Sheldon: Voice
Kirsten Sollek: Voice
  • LabelTzadik
  • UPC702397831426
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews