Kaada / Patton - Bacteria Cult CD (Mega Blowout Sale)

SKU 23-Ipecac 5050954435323
“Norwegian composer John Kaada and Mike Patton (Faith No More, Tomahawk, Nevermen) have partnered for Bacteria Cult, the first album from the musicians since 2004’s Romances.
“Working with John Kaada on this latest release was an honor and pure pleasure,” said Patton of resuming work Kaada. “His compositions have always resonated deeply with me and his orchestral arrangements for this project are harmonically dense and delicious! Each individual piece is so well constructed and inventively assembled that my vocal passages practically sang themselves. I’m hoping very much that we can seduce some eardrums and welcome listeners into this lush sonic ‘otherworld.’”
“We wanted to try new things,” explains Kaada. “Fully utilizing new technologies, combined with a large orchestra, while putting more attention towards melody and structure.”
The eight-song, orchestral collection exudes the music Ipecac has become well known for: eclectic, experimental and cinematic. Similar in feel to Fantômas’ Director’s Cut, as Kaada describes it, Bacteria Cult “dwells in the twilight zone where spooky and seductive meet.”

“A collaboration between two of experimental music's most prolific and mercurial practitioners, Kaada/Patton sees Norwegian composer and producer John Erik Kaada and Faith No More/Mr. Bungle/Fantômas frontman Mike Patton distilling their love of both film and music into something truly unique. Largely orchestral, with Kaada providing the sonic vistas and Patton exploring those vistas via his elastic voice, the duo's first outing, 2004's Romances, drew inspiration from classical composers Gustav Mahler, Franz Liszt, and Johannes Brahms. A live album and DVD that captured the group's 2005 performance at Denmark's Roskilde Festival followed in 2007, and in 2016 they issued their sophomore studio outing, Bacteria Cult, which explored darker, more sinister themes, while maintaining the seductive and cinematic world-building of their debut.”-AllMusic
  • LabelIpecac
  • UPC5050954435323
Your Price $7.00

Customer Reviews