Oscillotron - Eclipse

SKU 19-Cine 06
"“Eclipse” is the debut album of OSCILLOTRON. It includes 6 tracks of instrumental, electronic music made essentially with analog synthesizers. The intent behind the album was to create a soundscape reminiscent of old horror prog rock fleshed out into an ambient dreamstate. It aims to take the listener on a journey through intense and relentless narratives as though telling a horror story itself. Musical influences include Tangerine Dream, Goblin, Brian Eno, Zombi, Jean-Michel Jarre, Fabio Frizzi and Wendy Carlos. OSCILLOTRON is the solo project of David Johansson – frontman of the heavy rock band KONGH. The album was written and produced during 18 months and was finished in early October 2012."

"Eclipse's press release proclaims the "intent behind the album was to create a soundscape reminiscent of old horror prog rock fleshed out into an ambient dreamstate."

Well stated — and appreciated. The bare essentials presented here are: analog, electronic, instrumental. Operating as Oscillotron, Kongh's vocalist-guitarist David Johansson is the newest addition to the increasing ranks of electronic progressive instrumentalists who continue to chart new paths on maps initially laid out by Tangerine Dream, Goblin, creepmeister John Carpenter's homegrown soundtracks, and the lauded fare of Italian film composer-synthesist Fabio Frizzi.

"Embryo" harks back to Mark Shreeve's early '80s album of the same name. The six-minute opener is a similarly effected backdrop of sustained analog bass encroaching on a pool of liquid sound. Many electronic albums are prefaced by such a track, and the result is usually palatable if not remarkable. "Dawn" introduces a spectral organ over a skeletal rhythm represented by the most heavily-reverbed snare sample in recording history. Instrumental rock masters Moore & Paterra, a.k.a. Zombi look on in approval as the album gathers steam with "Oracle." The percolating anchor sequence, pulsating rock drumbeat and booming crescendo are well-worn Zombi playbook staples that never get. The track's last section, an arpeggiated powering-down on a wonderfully soupy string patch, is a nice if unintentional nod to a Patrick O'Hearn rarity called "Malone's Jump."

Also more generous with its noteplay than the first two tracks, "Assembly" is quasi-Teutonic in a sweetly Tangram-esque fashion, proving wearing your influences proudly on your sleeves can be a good thing in some instances. John Carpenter's minimalist approach manifests itself on "Terror," a plodding eight-minute-plus tapestry of deep bass, savory sine wave pads and a squarely Carpenter-ian component: the mantra of the quarter-note kick drum with no other percussive bits. The album's title composition continues in this spacious fashion with a crystalline tintinnabulation and an ominous Moog bass pattern spelling out impending doom for the forsaken.

Eclipse proves to be an all-around stimulating outing of velvety textures and slithering sonics. It's safe to conclude Johansson treads no new ground, but like Morte Macabre, Umberto and Zombi's Steve Moore prove over and over, this is an ongoing theme for which listeners never risk losing their yearning."-Sea Of Tranquility
  • LabelCineploit
  • UPC0793573250551
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews