Rodney, Red / Ira Sullivan - Sprint (Mega Blowout Sale)

SKU 28-WUB6261.2
"The last of six LPs by the Red Rodney-Ira Sullivan Quintet was also the band's finest. There are times in the music (which consists of three originals by pianist Garry Dial, Herbie Hancock's "Speak Like a Child" and "As Time Goes By") where the group sounds like the early Ornette Coleman Quartet. The setting and advanced repertoire clearly challenged Rodney (who mostly sticks here to flugelhorn) and inspired Sullivan (switching between alto, alto flute, soprano and flugelhorn). A post-bop gem, one of Rodney's finest recordings."-All Music
  • LabelWounded Bird
  • UPC664140626126
Your Price $6.00

Customer Reviews