Walking Hellos - Because I Wanted to Know

SKU WH 001
This is the current project from Val Opielski (co-leader of the the late, great Krakatoa) and pals. Totally charming indie-pop with some sounds here and there that will definitely remind you of Krakatoa - but that's not the main point with this. Judge and enjoy it on its own merits and you'll enjoy this one.

"The Walking Hellos are four multifarious Brooklyn musicians with eight instruments between them and a taste for mixing things up. A swirling vortex of guitar loops, plucky banjo, sweet vocals with a short temper and an accordion with a private dreamlife combine with vibrant bass, driving drums, and hip-shaking baritone guitar grooves to create a raucous blend of gorgeous, brainy music. An unpredictable and delectable fusion of the thoughtful, the raucous, the pretty, and the pounding. Myla Goldberg (best-selling author of Bee Season), Val Opielski, Rose Thomson (Babe the Blue Ox), and Heather Wagner make music in a Bed-Stuy basement with the help of a banjo, a mutant guitar, sound loops, an accordion, bass, and drums. Critics have called them 'The Raincoats meet Pere Ubu;' 'The Shaggs meet Tin Huey;' 'Lydia Lunch meets Throwing Muses.'"
  • LabelWH
Your Price $10.00

Customer Reviews