Zorn, John - Azoth

SKU TZ 8375
“Jay Campbell (JACK Quartet) and Michael Nicolas (Brooklyn Rider) are two of the greatest cellists in new music. Long-time members of Zorn’s inner circle, here they perform four compositions written expressly for them. Featuring two works for solo cello and two works for cello and rhythm section, the music is filled with spectacular leaps, intense textures, dizzying tremolos, hypnotic ostinatos, scordatura and more! As always, Zorn pushes the envelope of what is technically possible on the instrument and Mike and Jay come to the plate full force, exhibiting a new level of virtuosity in these breathtaking and dramatic works. With Ches Smith on drums and Jorge Roeder on bass this is a cello recital unlike any other!”
Ches Smith: Drums
Jay Campbell: Cello
Michael Nicolas: Cello
Jorge Roeder: Bass
  • LabelTzadik
  • UPC702397837527
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews