Zorn, John - Encomia

SKU TZ 8366
“Featuring the fabulous virtuoso pianist Stephen Gosling, Encomia is a collection of tributes to many of Zorn’s musical heroes.
The first Book of Preludes consists of three impressionistic pieces in the tradition of Debussy and Ravel that pay tribute to the legendary ballet dancer Nijinsky, the author Novalis creator of the prose poem, and the Hellenistic 3rd century poet Nossis.
Encomia is a suite of tributes to five of Zorn’s musical heroes that run the gamut of styles from minimalism to maximalism.
Violinist Chris Otto joins Stephen Gosling for the final piece, a newcomposition for violin and piano inspired by the writings of Sigmund Freud. A remarkable program of some of the most beautiful music Zorn has ever written.”

Stephen Gosling: piano
Chris Otto: violin
  • LabelTzadik
  • UPC702397836629
Your Price $20.00

Customer Reviews