Agora - Ichinen

SKU 33-Immaginifica 1022
Agora were a semi-obscure Italian jazz/rock band of the mid 1970s, who released two albums and then faded away. Their work was excellent quality Italian jazz rock ala Perigeo, Il Baricentro, Weather Report, etc. The band has gotten back together, but this is (not yet) a brand new album. Instead it is a collection of rarities from their initial period and their lost period, after their record contract was lost as well as some current recordings.

"Ichinen is the synthesis of the band's previous works. The tracklist is made up of historical songs, unreleased tracks of the second period of activity of the group and some rarities: never before released recordings of 1978 with Massimo Manzi on drums and Roberto Bacchiocchi at Rhodes piano.

Within Ichinen coexist moments of the life of the band from the beginning to the present. The track "Serra San Quirico" placed at the beginning of the work and the final track "Pyramid of Tomorrow / Solar Ride" represent the sound of the current lineup: Renato Gasparini (guitar), Ovidio Urbani (sax ), Gabriel Possenti (guitar), Gianni Pieri ( cello), Lucius Caesar (bass), Massimo Manzi (drums).

The Mediterranean atmosphere typical of the group are combined with ethnic and meditative tone that expands the sound structure of the entire album. What you can hear is an acoustic and refined sound , full of warm melodic themes and intense improvisations."

You can see a live version of the opening track here:

  • LabelImmaginifica
  • UPC8034094090359
Your Price $18.00

Customer Reviews