Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band - The Lost Broadcasts DVD

SKU 25-HST-DVD-112
ATTENTION! ATTENTION! Unbelievable ARCHIVAL TREASURE alert! This 30' long DVD contains every scrap of material that exists in the archives of Beat Club/Radio Bremen, from the Magic Band's April 12, 1972 performance, which resulted only in one song ever broadcast - no one ever saw the remaining 25' or even suspected that anything else existed!
This is basically the Clear Spot lineup:
Don, Zoot Horn Rollo/Bill Harkleroad (guitar) Rockette Morton/Mark Boston (guitar and bass), Winged Eel Fingerling/Elliott Ingber (guitar), Orejon/Roy Estrada (bass), Ed Marimba/Art Tripp (drums).

They perform:
1. Rockette's bass solo
2. Click Clack (two takes - one complete)
3. Golden Birdies
4. band intros
5. Steal Softly Through Snow
6. I'm Gonna Booglarize You, Baby (three takes)

The band is in top form and Don is as well. If you were me, you'd pay the price of admission just for the complete take of Click Clack with some clear, great footage of Artie Tripp behind the kit, just whacking away, wearing his crazy stage outfit (this sorta crazy, huge-floppy-buttoned, sleeveless top, his monacle and a pair of colorful panties atop his head, bandana style). Absolutely essential and absolutely recommended if you are a fan.

Here's a short bit so you can see how great this looks

  • Format TypeNTSC
  • Region CodingAll Region
  • LabelGonzo
  • UPC5060230862644
Your Price $30.00

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

Okay it's short, and You get one song done three times... but there's nothing else quite like this. Track 8 an instrumental seemingly mis-titled Steal Softly Through Snow is a fantastic hit of Van Vliet opiate... just stunning and really magic if can get on the right track.
Was this review helpful?