Cressida - Cressida / Asylum 2 x CDs (remastered)

SKU 28-BGO866.2
The entire output (two albums) that were originally released on the Vertigo Swirl label, digitally remastered for the first time from the master tapes. A 5 piece of Angus Cullen-vocals, John Heyworth-guitar, Peter Jennings-keyboards Kevin McCarthy- bass & Iain Clark-drums.

"Both Cressida albums can be used as an example of what is interesting and worthwhile about UK progressive rock. Although freely borrowing from almost any style imaginable, the band manages to create a unique atmospheric blend of seriousness and light-heartedness more often than not with a melancholic touch not unlike Spring. The music on the first album is slightly more song- orientated and simply spills over from memorable and simultaneously sad and beautiful melodies." - The Tapestry Of Delights "Fantastic early English proto-prog. This is very beautiful, melancholy and for the most part, mellow stuff. Very atmospheric and morose, yet with a singularly British personality to it. You can literally taste and smell the colors of autumn while listening to it. The whole affair is awash with tasteful piano, softly pulsing bass and an occasionally biting and ferocious Hammond organ assault when the band builds up the intensity. This is an album whose atmosphere will have a slow but sure effect on the listener, like most great prog albums, its full emotional potential should be slowly realized. A highly reccommended album.-Greg Northrup/Gnosis.
  • LabelBGO
  • UPC5017261208668
Your Price $20.00

Customer Reviews