Daal - Daedalus CD

SKU 33-MRC 107
“Thirteen years after the debut with “Disorganicorigami”, the Daal publish their 7th studio album: “Daedalus”. After the release of “Decalogue of Darkness” in 2018 (the most successful album), Alfio and Davide met in Roma in 2019 in order to organize the next artistic activity. The Daal musical expression has always been featuring dark themes or descriptions of tough psychological situations. Even if full of literary influences, the musical offer is mostly instrumental. The Daal’s music is personal, intimate, melancholy, evocative, sometimes hypnotic and “disordered”. It is the result of the composer feelings and, even being fanciful, finds always inspiration in actuality. The album: “Daedalus” comes from the Icaro myth and from the psychological process which pushes to overcome your own limits, challenging the “laws of Nature” and enjoying the beauty of the unknown. The endless research and experimentation, fundamental features of the Daal’s music, find fertile ground in this context. The compositional and sound experience of “Daedalus” is another step forward in the Daal’s exploration journey, where the contrasts and the researches meet the symphonic plots, painted of melancholy and darkness. The track list: In the official album release there are six tracks: “Journey through the spiral mind” (1st part and 2nd part), “Icarus Dream”, “Labyrinth 66”, “Painting Wings” and “In my time of shadow”. The limited edition and the “deluxe” edition provide three more tracks: “Minotaur”, “Sunrise” and “Moonrise”. “Journey through the spiral mind” is a sound trip inside a mental spiral. It is the idea that tries to take shape in a context of apparent chaos between matter, colour and sound. It is a suite divided into two parts which opens and closes the album as a frame of sound exploration and research. “Icarus Dream” is a thought about the Icaro’s flight: it is a metaphor of the will that overcomes the boundaries and the limits imposed by the nature or, in the case of the Daals, of the musical patterns. “Labyrinth” is another little suite of two parts, inspired by the Cnossus Labyrinth. It is an experiment of shapeless and “fluid” sound research in the first part, which finds its own shape in the second part. “Painting Wings” is the vision of the music as colours, lights and shadows. To paint your wings in order to be what you want to be and to show yourself as you really are, before “flying” … “In my time of shadow” is an easy melancholic thought about our existence and about the meaning of life. It is to mirror yourself naked and to be aware of your own dark sides. “Minotaur” describes by music the result of the monstrous union between Pasiphae and a bull gifted by Poseidon. “Sunrise” and “Moonrise” are the two elements of light, the contrasts and the similarities of our life. The artists: Davide Guidoni: drummer, percussionist, arranger and composer. He is the graphic and the limited and deluxe edition director. He composed “Sunrise” and “Minotaur”. Alfio Costa: keyboardist, composer, arranger and producer of the album music. He composed the most part of the tracks and he mixed and mastered the album. Ettore Salati: guitarist and arranger of the album with Davide and Alfio. Roberto “Bobo” Aiolfi: bassist.”
  • LabelMaracash
  • UPC8019991887851
Your Price $17.00

Customer Reviews