Fruupp - Wise As Wisdom: The Dawn Albums 1973-1975 (24-bit remastered) 4 x CD box set (due to weight, this price for the USA only. Outside of the USA, the price will be adjusted as needed)

SKU 23-ECLEC 42686
Fruupp were a very good but basically overlooked Irish progressive band consisting of keyboards/oboe/vocals, guitars/vocals, bass/lead vocals & drums. Their albums were Future Legends (73), Seven Secrets (74), Prince Of Heaven's Eyes and Modern Masquerades (75).
This is all very high-quality stuff; well played and well crafted and performed by a road-tested band that played shows constantly, with a light touch and even some acoustic-ish passages that might remind one of Genesis' early prime (Trespass/Nursery Crime), but that doesn't sound a bit like Genesis.

“Four CD boxed set that gathers together all four albums released by Irish progressive rock legends Fruupp. Formed in Belfast in 1971, the band featured Pete Farrelly (bass guitar, flute, lead vocals), Vincent McCusker (lead guitar, vocals), Stephen Houston (keyboards, oboe, vocals) and Martin Foye (drums, percussion). Debut album Future Legends saw the band gain a loyal following. The band's follow up album, Seven Secrets, was issued in April 1974 and was a wonderful exercise in Symphonic and Melodic rock, the album was highly acclaimed upon release. Released in November 1974, The Prince of Heaven's Eyes was Fruupp's third album and their most ambitious to date, being a conceptual work. Prior to the recording of the band's fourth album, keyboard player Stephen Houston departed the band to be replaced by John Mason on keyboards, vibes and vocals. Modern Masquerades would be Fruupp's final album and was arguably one of their most polished works. The recordings of this much-loved band have become highly sought after by collectors and this four-disc set gathers all of their albums together for the first time.”
  • LabelEsoteric
  • UPC5013929478602
Your Price $32.00

Customer Reviews