Mitchell, Joni - Live at Sydney Opera House 1983 CD (Mega Blowout Sale)

SKU 23-FMCZ 108
Joni Mitchell-guitar, piano, vocals
Michael Landau-guitar
Russell Ferrante-keyboards
Larry Klein-bass
Vinnie Colaiuta-drums

Excellent quality radio broadcast sonics.

“By the time Joni Mitchell released her eleventh studio album, Wild Things Run Fast, in 1983, she’d sped her own way through a career marked by continual artistic evolution, with albums such as Ladies Of The Canyon, the game-changing Blue and the jazz-led Hejira reshaping all notions of singer-songwriter music – and of what Mitchell herself was capable of. With Wild Things Run Fast, she expanded her music even further, drawing on 80s synth-pop for a record that went Top 30 in both the US and her Canadian homeland.
Originally recorded for broadcast on FM radio, this concert, captured before a sold-out audience during the first of two shows that Mitchell performed at the Sydney Opera House in March 1983, finds Mitchell at the top of her game. Alongside a laidback arrangement of her hit US single You Turn Me On, I’m A Radio and a cheerfully freewheeling take on the iconic ecological anthem Big Yellow Taxi, she performs highlights from Wild Things Run Fast, including a rock-edged Underneath The Streetlight and the poignant masterpiece that is Chinese Café, the latter’s emotive underpinning given even greater impact through its use of snatches of The Righteous Brothers’ Unchained Melody. Unfettered and free, this is Mitchell at her most masterful.”

1. Free Man in Paris
2. No Regrets Coyote
3. Edith and the Kingpin
4. You Turn Me On, I’m a Radio
5. Song for Sharon
6. God Must Be a Boogie Man
7. Real Good for Free
8. Big Yellow Taxi
9. A Case of You (Canada)
10. Amelia
11. Ladies’ Man
12. You’re So Square (I Don’t Care)
13. Chinese Café / Unchained Melody
14. Help Me
15. Both Sides Now
16. Underneath the Streetlight
17. Woodstock
  • LabelFMCB
  • UPC5056083209804
Your Price $8.00

Customer Reviews