Strawbs - Settlement CD

SKU 23-EANTCD 1087
It’s now, what? Almost 55 years since their very first recordings? Dave Cousins is joined by Dave Bainbridge, Dave Lambert & Blue Weaver and this very much has their 70s sound intact.

"Settlement is Strawbs’ umpteenth album and the follow up to The Ferryman’s Curse which was a superb prog record released in November 2017, but unfortunately associated with the untimely demise of producer Chris Tsangarides a month later. This record too is similarly tinged with sadness as it is dedicated to founding member Tony Hooper who left us towards the end of 2020. He would have been proud of his legacy though, as this is another fine continuation of the brand name. Credit should also be given to Cherry Red Records whose dedication to music has yet again come up trumps and brought ostensibly non-commercial music to the more discerning purchaser and listener.
This latest is to be released in 2021, a year that five decades earlier could have been the title of a sci-fi novel, but no one could have predicted that the premise would be the battle against the Covid Nineteenoids that had attacked the human race in its microscopic form. Defence tactics have included social isolation and this encompassed bands of musicians as well. However, technology has meant that many recordings could be made across the world without ever meeting up, and this Settlement is no exception.
This time, former Strawbs’ keyboard player and now Germany based Blue Weaver (Grave New World, Bursting at the Seams) has coordinated these twelve tracks into a cohesive oeuvre which features the same line-up as Ferryman. Long-service medal winner Dave Lambert still adds the volts to the unplugged, Lifesigns’ guitarist Dave Bainbridge supplies the classic stringy keys, Rick Wakeman’s chum Tony Fernandez on drums, and Chas Cronk plucking (and pedalling) the lower notes. Contributing their parts in the comfort of their own homes and pants, this is (as confirmed by the press release) a “remarkable achievement”, plus we get a couple of other remote guests too, notably former member John Ford who co-wrote Each Manner of Man with his distinctive Part of the Union singing.
Of course, it’s Dave Cousin’s voice that sums up this band, and the opening title track begins this real ale pub gig as folkies with keyboards as jugs of Hoppy Ending Pale Ale are downed with smiling recognition on the crimson faces in the virtually packed wood panelled snug. Strange Times is similarly engaging as a fireside accompaniment where times of danger and grief reflect this new normal. The piano is as plaintive as a plaintive thing with laughter lines, with the orchestrally swelling keyboards slowing up the drinking as the chords and autumnal arrangement warm the space twixt vest and woolly jumper...
Appealing to the already fan rather than the Little Mix generation, sit back and acquire the taste because “There comes a time when every Settlement is due”. And that time is now."-The Progressive Aspect
  • LabelEsoteric Antenna
  • UPC5013929478732
Your Price $16.00

Customer Reviews